Mattel’s Kenna O’Brien and NBCUniversal’s Vanessa Fung triumph in Designer/Inventor categories at WiT Wonder Women Awards 2022

Wonder Women Award

Women in Toys, Licensing & Entertainment has detailed the 2022 Wonder Women Award winners.

Honouring the brightest women in toys, licensing and entertainment, the WiT Wonder Women Awards is an annual celebration of the industry’s remarkable thought leaders, entrepreneurs and changemakers.

Kenna O’Brien – Senior Manager, Product Design, Barbie at Mattel – triumphed in the Designer/Inventor category, while Vanessa Fung – Senior Designer, Toys & Hardlines at Universal Brand Development – picked up the Designer/Inventor Rising Star Award.

The full list of winners are:
Designer / Inventor – Kenna O’Brien, Senior Manager, Product Design – Barbie – Mattel
● Licensee / Manufacturer – Amanda Bright, Senior Director, Product Development – Spin Master
● Licensor / Entertainment – Jes Wolfe, CEO – Rebel Girls
Marketing / PR – Arlene Biran, SVP, US Marketing – Spin Master
Social Good – Sarah Knott, Manager, Global Philanthropy and Social Impact – Hasbro
● Covid Hero – The LEGO Group
● Deal Maker – Paula Kupfer, Senior Director, Global Partnerships – Hasbro
● Storyteller – Azhelle Wade, CEO – The Toy Coach
● Unsung Hero – Maggie Snow, Senior Director & Associate General Counsel – Mattel
● Wonder Girl – Alaya High, Artist (That Girl Lay Lay) – Paramount
● Rising Star – Deal Maker – Brittany Oliver, Senior Commercial Lead – ZURU Toys
● Rising Star – Designer/Inventor – Vanessa Fung, Senior Designer, Toys & Hardlines – Universal Brand Development
Rising Star – Licensee / Manufacturer – Dr. Lisa Williams, CEO & Founder – The World of EPI
● Rising Star – Licensor / Entertainment – Tiffany Suzuki, Licensing Manager – Crunchyroll
● Rising Star – Marketing / PR – Sakita Withers, Brand Manager – PlayMonster
● Rising Star – Social Good – Penny Bauder, Founder & CEO – Green Kid Crafts
● Rising Star – Storyteller – Rupa Parekh, Founder & CEO – Umani Studio
● Rising Star – Unsung Hero – Amanda Marschall, Training Manager – The LEGO Group

The 2022 Wonder Women Award Honorees Are:
● Retailer of the Year – Amazon / Anne Carrihill – Amazon
● Icon Award – JoJo Siwa – Paramount
● Changemaker Award – Steven Wolfe Periera – Encantos

“It’s a privilege and an honour to celebrate this incredible slate of 2022 Wonder Women Award winners and honourees,” said Janice Ross, WiT President.

“This year’s expanded categories gave us the opportunity to spotlight the broad range of tremendously talented women in our industry, and the powerful impact they’re having. Out of hundreds of deserving nominees, this amazing group embodies such extraordinary excellence in leadership.”

To stay in the loop with the latest news, interviews and features from the world of toy and game design, sign up to our weekly newsletter here

Stay up to date with the latest news, interviews and opinions with our weekly newsletter
Back to top arro

Sign Up

Enter your details to receive Mojo updates & news.